rSAP / data connection

Discussions about rSAP, about this board and whatever is related.
Post Reply
Microsaft
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 10:16 am

rSAP / data connection

Post by Microsaft » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:29 pm

I'm using ur app with my DHD (Android Revolution HD 6.x) and my VW premium FSE.

I can use phone and SMS as expected BUT I'm not able to access the internet (or sync my mails) :o
As soon the phone is connected there is no data connection (also symbol disappers)

Is it not possibe with the app or doesn't SAP support this?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by admin » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:47 pm

This is by design. As the name suggests, the car telephone accesses the SIM card exclusively so the mobile phone cannot access it anymore.

With newer VW (since MJ 2011?) there is a Bluetooth dial-up network available, so the mobile phone could use the car phone to connect to the internet. But I did not yet succeed to set this up. Perhaps I'll be more motivated when I'll get my new Golf next weekend ;)

Microsaft
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 10:16 am

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by Microsaft » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:07 pm

OK - thanks for ur quick reply

With the current solution I dont get nerved with mails :twisted:

pinetree
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:01 pm

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by pinetree » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:07 pm

did you already suceed in using the bluetooth dialup network?

I would like to use your app with an VW RNS510 - already tested the trial and it worked flawlessly.

But since I do a lot of longer drives with my car I would like to use the external antenna and better audio quality of rSAP but also need access to the internet for mails and stuff. So i need the best of both worlds :)

It just doesn't feel right to take away the network access from my nexus - its just a dumbphone without that..

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by admin » Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:46 am

Sorry, no news yet. I made the mistake to buy me a Galaxy Nexus. That caused additional work...

I hope I can implement the DUN access before christmas.

tiefimwesten
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:37 pm

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by tiefimwesten » Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:49 pm

Hi,
this has not been a mistake to buy the Nexus :) .
rSAP on my Nexus with FSE Premium 2011 works fine.Thank's a lot for this.
But now I can't use CoPilot's online traffic service or Google Maps routing
at my GN because of missing data connection :(.
It would be great if you find the time to add this feature.

All over all, thank you for your great job
Ingo

bbathome
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: rSAP / data connection

Post by bbathome » Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:34 pm

tiefimwesten wrote:Hi,
this has not been a mistake to buy the Nexus :) .
rSAP on my Nexus with FSE Premium 2011 works fine.Thank's a lot for this.
But now I can't use CoPilot's online traffic service or Google Maps routing
at my GN because of missing data connection :(.
It would be great if you find the time to add this feature.

All over all, thank you for your great job
Ingo
I have an Audi with rSAP and a HTC Desire. I can access the internal phone book and usage as phone is great.
The car also has the possibility to act as a WiFi AccessPoint - and with this the Desire is getting Internet Access via WiFi (via the car which uses the SIM of the Desire :) )

So everything is working as it should.

Post Reply

Return to “rSAP General”