It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:48 pm

rSAP for Android Forum

Support forum for Android rSAP App

Which driver to choose for the Desire S?

Discussions about running the rSAP app on the HTC Desire S

Which driver to choose for the Desire S?

Post by Vampyre » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:54 pm

Hi,

I recently got a Desire S and after a rather long talk to HTC about the RSAP and why they are not implementing it anymore in new handsets, I finally gave up, unlocked the bootloader, rooted the phone and tried to install your test application. When installing the generic driver files the mobile connects and the car kit also recognizes this by showing "Connection in progress" but after a while fails? So I assume I should try the other drivers? Just out of curiosity ;-) : Where's the difference between the generic and the other driver files? (I am a professional in IT-Security so technical speak is welcome here;-)) What is the impact of exchanging libhtc_ril.so? Are there any drawbacks in regard to functionality over the original one?
Thanks for your answers in advance!
Best regards..

Re: Which driver to choose for the Desire S?

Post by Vampyre » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:10 am

As I was a bit too curious, I installed the drivers again - this time the native one and it works - almost flawlessly. But when ending the BT connection, the phone gets back to logging in into the network for voice but fails for data connections. The error displayed says there is no SIM card in the phone?!?

Post by admin » Fri Nov 23, 2012 8:51 am

My library simply forwards the functionality to the original, renamed library, so there should not be any change in behaviour. When rSAP mode is activated on a phone that does not support it initially, this is an operating mode that usually does not happen on the phone, so it may be that there is some change in the phone's state that would not happen if you didn't use rSAP.

The difference between the two libraries: