Galaxy s5

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:40 am

The problem is that I don't know why it doesn't work with your phone. To get the phonebook, a Bluetooth device (car) first asks the phone if it supports the profile and gets the port number (kind of address) of the profile. Then it opens the port and transfers the data. Your car does the first step, but not the second. Since the VW Premium phone usually works like a charm, I'm puzzled. Something must have been messed up in your Premium box, so I would suggest a factory reset of the car phone. Only I'm not sure if this is possible. Recently I tried to find the menu option but didn't succeed.

As far as I know there are coding options for both phonebook profiles (PBAP and IrMC), but it would be strange if anyone modified them. Maybe it's possible to do a factory reset via the diagnostic interface?

What happens when you connect your S5 in Handsfree (not "Premium") mode?

Jamesace1990
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by Jamesace1990 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 7:19 pm

Hi. I have had a go with the diagnostics today any reset every thing i can. Iv checked the coding and from what i can see it all looks ok and makes sence but there in no resets on them.

I have also done a hard reset of the columbus head unit. Unpluged the bluetooth module and disconnected the battery for an hour and tried from scratch.

As for trying handsfree i dont think the module supportd it. I have never been able to connect anything to it other than a older nokia a while ago any my current samsung s5. Both of which seem to acs as remote sim with so service on the actual phone when connected.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:58 am

Is it the 3C8 035 730 without any additional letter, like 3C8 035 730 A? This is in fact the only 3C8 without handsfree. See also http://www.android-rsap.com/faq/107.html.

The device saves most data in flash memory (except SIM PINs), so it doesn't help to disconnect it from power. I remember I once found a menu option to reset the device, but I cannot find it anymore. Maybe I mix it up with another device...

What happens when you force phonebook transfer? If this also does not work, can you try to create a "HCI Snoop" log of a forced transfer? Please start the log before you enter the car and don't forget to stop it.

Jamesace1990
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by Jamesace1990 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:11 pm

No it does not have any letters after it. It is premium rsap only. I will create a log again later. I take it when you say force tge phonebook transfer you mean through the car as i havent seeb any option on the phone to do so.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:17 pm

Yes in the car. It's always the car that requests the phonebook. The phone only sits there and waits for a request.

Jamesace1990
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:20 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by Jamesace1990 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:04 pm

I have emailed you the file hopfully it helps. Thanks

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:06 pm

This is really strange. The car simply doesn't request the phonebook. Never.
I'll check if my 3C8 Premium box shows the same behavior.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:36 pm

I checked my 3C8, and as I expected both phonebook profiles work fine. I don't know what's wrong with your Premium device. Maybe the best solution is in fact to replace it with the latest "D" version.

VladV
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:48 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by VladV » Tue Jul 12, 2016 10:56 pm

Hello,

Please help me with the following error occurred on my Samsung S5 (SM-G900F with android 6.0.1): SIM State - Socket Connect error.
The phone is rooted and the access for the app was granted in SuperSU.
In addition, I saw the following error in installation app: Connect to SIM - Parameter 'ResultCode' is not 'OK'.

Many thanks in advance,
Vlad

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: Galaxy s5

Post by admin » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:24 pm

I can reproduce this with my S6. It may take a while until it works again.

Post Reply

Return to “Other Samsung Phones”